Gorillaz announce new album with Stevie Nicks, Tame Impala and Beck

The group Gorillaz, made up of Blur frontman Damon Albarn and graphic designer and cartoonist Jamie Hewlett, announced on Wednesday that their upcoming album, Cracker Island, will be released on February 24. It will notably include the new song New Goldwith Tame Impala, as well as collaborations with Beck, Bad Bunny and Stevie Nicks, singer of Fleetwood Mac.

Gorillaz’s latest album, Song Machine: Season One – Strange Timez, which launched in 2020, was fairly well received by critics. The band’s seventh album featured a staggering number of collaborators, including rapper Skepta Elton John and The Cure singer Robert Smith.

Damon Albarn picks up the formula for Cracker Island, whose first eponymous single, released in July, features Thundercat, a modern bass hero who has notably collaborated with Flying Lotus and Kendrick Lamar. For the second single from the album, New GoldAlbarn has set his sights on prolific Australian one-man band Kevin Parker, who records as Tame Impala.

The album was recorded earlier this year in London and Los Angeles. It is produced by Gorillaz, Remi Kabaka Jr. and Greg Kurstin, who notably produced the album Egypt Station (2018), by Paul McCartney.

Gorillaz and his virtual characters – 2D, Murdoc Niccals, Russel Hobbs and Noodle – are currently on a world tour. They will stop at the Bell Center in Montreal on October 8, as well as Vancouver (Rogers Arena, September 11) and Toronto (Scotiabank Arena, October 6).

Follow by Email